Facebook is killing this blog

Just a year ago, it would not have happened this way.

But let me start at the beginning.

A friend sent me a link to a Youtube video. It’s a tribute to the great Formula 1 ace, the late Ayrton Senna.

I like the video. It’s a moving tribute, lovingly created to honour one of sport’s greatest heroes. I’m especially impressed by the scenes where Senna pulls his car over in the middle of a race and gets out to assist a driver who had just crashed. How many drivers would do such a thing these days?

As a driver, he’s amazing, but as a human being, he’s even more so.

From Wikipedia:

Senna reportedly donated the bulk of his fortune to create the “Ayrton Senna Foundation”, with the aim of helping poor and needy young people in Brazil and around the world.

[…]

After Senna’s death it was discovered that he had donated millions of dollars of his personal fortune (estimated at $400 million at the time of his death) to children’s charities, a fact that during his life he had kept secret. His foundation in Brazil, Instituto Ayrton Senna, has invested nearly US$80 million over the last twelve years in social programs and actions in partnership with schools, government, NGOs, and the private sector aimed at offering children and teenagers from low-income backgrounds the skills and opportunities they need to develop to their full potential as persons, citizens and future professionals.

After watching the video, and reading the Wikipedia article about him as well as his tragic death, I decide to share it with friends and others.

A year ago, I would have immediately done what I’m doing now – I’d have blogged about it.

Instead, what I did was to log on to Facebook, posted the link with a brief comment of my own appended to it. I didn’t even think about blogging it.

This is not the first time I’ve chosen to use Facebook (FB) instead of my blog to publicly communicate my thoughts. With the myriad tools available on FB to share content and opinions, it’s a lot easier and faster to get my voice out there.

When once I would be logging into my blog to see how many hits I’ve gotten, or how many new comments have been posted, nowadays I’m logging into FB to see what my contacts are up to (based on their status messages), or who has challenged me to yet another game of Word Twist, or who has sent me FB mail, who has superpoked me, etc.

It’s crazy. It’s stupid. It’s laughably inane (superpoking?!). It’s also addictively fun.

When I started Facebooking (you know something has reached a special level of popularity when it’s name becomes a verb) not that long ago, like most newbies I’d be adding new applications and inviting others to do the same. Basically, I’d be spamming them.

Now that I’ve realised what annoyances these constant “invites” can be, I’ve stopped doing so. (If anyone continues to get invites from me to install an app on their profile, it’s not me, it must be the app itself. Please ignore it.)

As a communication tool, FB has surpassed this blog’s usefulness to the extent that this is the first time I’ve logged into sashi-isms in weeks.

Not only that, I find it a chore to crawl through the many hundreds of blogs that I’ve saved in my RSS feed reader. This weekend, I resolve to finally bring a hatchet to that giant list of RSS feeds, and hack out a majority of the blogs.

Back to this blog – what will become of it? I’m not going to just quit and delete everything. But don’t hold your breath expecting me to constantly update this blog either.

Maybe such a time will come when I find sufficient inspiration to become a regular blogger again. All I need is a muse…..

But for now, I’ll be over at FB, silently communicating with the masses.

“Sashi is logging off sashi-isms.”

3 thoughts on “Facebook is killing this blog”

  1. There are such things as “Notes” on Facebook and people use it as a blog! Yeah, Facebook just might replace the regular blog…

  2. sadly, it has been the same for me. juggling flickr, FB and the blog – FB is the easy way out. but i still love my blog!

    how are you – not been here in ages. so, whats’ your FB ID again…?

Comments are closed.