Blockbuster Season 2008

Yup, it’s that time of year again. Big budget movies, with spectacularistic explosions, jaw-dropping CGI, occasional hot babes, and chock-full of testosterone, all coming to a cinema near you.

Eyeris is so excited he’s named this week Indiana Jones week. Ok……

At times like these, one must be frugal, and therefore when it comes to movies, I’m gonna pick and choose the movies I’m going to watch on the big screen. The rest can wait till they come to a pirate, err, I mean, satellite TV. (Unless if I find myself with too much time on my hands and with very little to do. Which, sad to say, is probably quite likely.)

I’ve already started my “summer” blockbuster season movie viewing last week, having watched Iron Man. Pretty good movie, that. I heartily recommend it.

Here are the other movies I intend to actually watch in a cinema:

Indiana Jones: Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull


How can anyone of my generation NOT be excited about the return of the greatest adventurer of all time?

The Incredible Hulk


Edward Norton, the consummate award-winning actor, in a comic-book movie role? Well, why not? And this green machine looks way more terror than in Ang Lee’s version too.

Wall-E


Cute doesn’t even begin to describe this little fella. Cute and endearing. With a cockroach as a friend. And it’s from Pixar. What other reason does one need?

Hancock


I’m not 100% sure I’m going to watch this in a cinema, but Will Smith movies are usually a safe bet for some good fun. And the trailer looks fun. Plus Charlize Theron’s in it.

Hellboy II: The Golden Army


The big red machine is BACK! Together with his “Super Sapiens” crew (including the smokin’ hot Selma Blair – pun intended), Hellboy takes on all the baddies from Pan’s Labyrinth. This one’s gonna be BRILLIANT!

The Dark Knight


One of the most faithful movie adaptations of the Batman character takes on the most villainous movie adaptation of the Joker. RIP, Mr Ledger.

The X-Files: I Want To Believe


I swear I wasn’t gonna watch this movie, not after the disappointment of the last X-Files movie. But I just saw the trailer, and the second that theme came on…. goosebumps. And damn, doesn’t Agent Scully look good? (This from a guy who used to be part of the old online GATB – Gillian Anderson Testosterone Brigade :P).

One thought on “Blockbuster Season 2008”

  1. Excuse me, my name is, Grimes, and I Love comics and I love movies. Knowing I have no chance of making a 200 million dollar movie, I decided to learn a little animation so I can work on my dream project.

    I am really proud of my newest project “Dark Knight: The Last Laugh” staring Al Pacino as the Dark Knight and Robert DeNiro as Joker. There is also a watchman video as well. Please check them out on YOUTUBE and please, please comment or link…my name there is WESTSIDEMEDIA. I really appreciate the support from the community. Here is the direct link to the film http://youtube.com/watch?v=tJNbmEVhsRM

Comments are closed.