Mika Musical Madness

I read this post by Eyeris yesterday on his crazy “addiction” to some of Mika‘s songs.

So, I err… “discovered” a few of the songs Eyeris mentions in his post, and now that I’ve listened to them, I fear I’ve become… what’s the word?… a tad cheerful.

Not a regular follower of the music scene, I did not realize that the song Love Today is the same tune that Star World seems to have adopted in their recent promos (replacing Black Eyed Peas “Let’s Get It Started”).

Doom da da di da di Doom da da di da di Doom da da di da di Doom da da di da di…..

Everybody’s gonna love today,
Gonna love today, gonna love today
Everybody’s gonna love today,
Gonna love today,
Anyway you want to, anyway you’ve got to,
Love love me, love love me, love love.

It’s an interesting remedy for mild depression, for sure. (Seek professional help if you’re seriously depressed.)

Then there’s the relentlessly cheerful Lollipop. The suggestive lyrics aside, the message seems pretty clean (and useful) actually:

I went walking with my mama one day,
when she warn me what people say,
live your life until love is found,
or love’s gonna get you down.

[…]

Mama told me what I should know,
too much candy gonna ride your soul,
if she loves you, let her go,
’cause love only gets you down.

Seriously. This stuff can be too cheerful. Seriously.

(I’m saying seriously too much. Why? Grey’s Anatomy Season 3, that’s why.)

Doom da da di da di Doom da da di da di Doom da da di da di Doom da da di da di…..

2 thoughts on “Mika Musical Madness”

Comments are closed.