The Oscores

So, the Oscars are over. I had a pretty good record this time around, with quite a number of my predictions hitting the mark.

Of course, most of the categories were dead certs anyway, like the Best Actor, Best Actress, and Best Supporting Actress awards.

I’m also a huge fan of Pan’s Labyrinth, and so was certain that it would pick up all the technical awards for which it was nominated.

And it did – Makeup, Art Direction and Cinematography.

But I was SO certain Pan’s Labyrinth would win Best Foreign Language Film too. How it didn’t win, I still don’t know.

The Animated Film category was another easy one, especially after Happy Feet‘s success at the Golden Globes too.

Best Costume seemed another easy pick, after a colleague of mine raved about the lavish costumes in Marie Antoinette. She generally has good taste in movies (except for the time she kept praising Lady In The Water :P) so I went with her on this one.

For Sound Mixing and Sound Editing, I based my predictions on the theory that war movies generally win the Editing honours, while musicals are favourites for Mixing. Hence the wins for Dreamgirls and Letters From Iwo Jima.

Believe me, I’m as surprised as you are that the theory made sense.

And Visual Effects. I mean, seriously: could you imagine either Poseidon or Superman winning this one? So Pirates it had to be.

And anyone who had no clue that Al Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth would win Best Documentary should be shot, hung, and quartered.

But the rest were… iffy.

I figured Eddie Murphy would walk the Best Actor award, since he pretty much cornered the buzz on this one. So Alan Arkin’s win was a surprise to me.

My friend insisted Martin Scorsese was gonna win the Best Director gong, and well, it’s about time, isn’t it? So yeah, I went along with that. Lucky me.

But I also thought the Academy would split the Director/Film honours, with maybe Babel getting Best Picture.

Nope.

The Departed took that too – as well as Best Adapted Screenplay, and Best Editing.

(If you’re going to watch a repeat of the show this evening, listen out for the moment when William Monahan is announced for winning the Screenplay award, for adapting the screenplay from a JAPANESE movie, Infernal Affairs. Oh Hollywood, surely you should know by now the difference between Hong Kong and Japan….)

Babel didn’t go home empty-handed, of course. They still won Best Score, and my colleague is a fan of the composer, so I should have seen this one coming. But I didn’t, so there.

And who’d have thunk that Dreamgirls, with 3 songs nominated for Best Song, would lose out to Melissa Etheridge. I shorely didn’t, y’all….

So anyway, there you go. Another year, another evenly weighted Academy Awards presentation.

I’m starting to miss the days when one single movie dominated the awards, like LOTR:ROTK, or even Titanic.

I can’t believe I just wrote that.

2 thoughts on “The Oscores”

  1. FYI, Alan Arkin was a very strong dark horse for the Best Supporting Actor award. And the Academy should be SHOT FOR GIVING THE AWARD TO SANTAOLALLA FOR THE SECOND BLOODY TIME when that hack does not deserve it (he even stole a track from The Insider for Babel) – this year’s nominations for the original score are the worst in years. And it was obvious why Dreamgirls lost all the song nominations – it’s a phenomenon known as split votes, when nominated more than once you almost certainly will not win. Ditto with Best Supporting Actress – you think Jennifer Hudson deserved it over Barraza or Kikuchi? And no, some Americans think Japanese and Chinese culture are the same sort of thing – just like our ignorant Malaysians will think Senegal and Tanzania are sort of the same thing.

    The Departed winning it was so disappointing. Should have gone to The Queen. Or Letters From Iwo Jima – Malaysians should watch it just to know who the Kempeitai are.

    Stupid Pan’s Labyrinth, winning other people’s awards. By the way, it is neck to neck with Donnersmarck’s film so it was not surprising that Das Leben Der Anderen won.

  2. I loved Pan’s Labyrinth but Lives of Others totally deserved that award and Children of Men should’ve won Cinematography.

Comments are closed.