Scene from Almost Famous

Almost Famous

William (Almost Famous)

WILLIAM: (ruefully) Well, it was fun.

LESTER BANGS: They make you feel cool. And hey. I met you. You are not “cool.”

WILLIAM: I know. Even when I thought I was, I knew I wasn’t.

LESTER BANGS: That’s because we are uncool! And while women will always be a problem for guys like us, most of the great art in the world is about that very problem. Good-looking people have no spine! Their art never lasts! They get the girls, but we’re smarter.

WILLIAM: I can really see that now.

LESTER BANGS: Yeah, great art is about conflict and pain and guilt and longing and love disguised as sex, and sex disguised as love… and let’s face it, you got a big head start.

WILLIAM: I’m glad you were home.

LESTER BANGS: I’m always home! I’m uncool!

WILLIAM: Me too!

LESTER BANGS: (leveling) The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what we share with someone else when we’re uncool.

WILLIAM: (distraught) I feel better.

Lester Bangs (Almost Famous)

Great movie. Great lines.

* Dialogue sourced from Almost Famous script © Cameron Crowe at The Daily Script.

One thought on “Scene from Almost Famous”

Comments are closed.