Welcome back, comments.

Well, it’s taken about a month since I acquired my old Haloscan comments and trackback pings (read this post for background), but I’ve finally managed to import every single last one of them into the relevant posts in this here blog. Phew!

At first, I snooped around the web, looking for a ready-made importer, but apparently no one has successfully managed to create a stable, bug-free application to do that. And I didn’t want to take the chance of screwing up either my old comments or my existing blog comments (or even posts!) by testing them out.

So, I took the manual approach. Got into my database, and inserted SQL comments one by one for each comment. Needless to say, it got tiring pretty fast (since I had more than a 1000 comments to import!)..

Hence, over one weekend period, I cobbled together a crude PHP forms-based app to allow myself to add comments at a faster rate. I still had to copy and paste the comments from the XML file, though, since I was having difficulty in getting my code to parse the XML properly. I didn’t have too much time to waste on this, so I abandoned the ‘let PHP grab comments automatically’ approach and went for ‘let me just paste this comments into a form’ approach.

Maybe, next time, I’ll work on this technique some more….

Meanwhile, now that all my old comments are back in their respective places, I no longer need my old Blogger account which I’ve been using as an archive of sorts. And so, 2 years and 6 months since that Blogspot domain of mine was first set up, I’ve deleted that address… closing yet another chapter of my brief blogging adventure.

So, feel free to look around my archives, and maybe, you’ll be as amused as I was reading all the old comments from my readers of long ago.

Thanks for all comments, people. I really really appreciate it. Keep ’em coming, hear? ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Welcome back, comments.”

  1. Err.. I just used a plugin to import all my comments from Haloscan. Then I helped Kudo (stomachofchaos.com) and May (littlemissmay.com) with theirs. Tarak hal osso. Betul ka you import one by one via SQL? Ayoyoyooooooo ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    http://ejoneclicks.com/2006/05/20/moving-from-blogger-and-haloscan-to-wordpress-20/

    SASHI: Dude, that seems to only work when you’re moving from Blogger + Haloscan to WP for the first time. Running it again overwrites exisiting entries and comments. I’ve tried that on a dummy WP installation on my localhost, that’s why I went for the SQL option.

  2. Ah you’re right. It needs the individual Blogger ID on each posts. My bad! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    So did you use a custom script to import all your old comments? Cakap lah.

Comments are closed.