Schools Me2

Me2 == MeMe. Geddit?

I don’t know if this lady actually tagged me, but just to be on the safe side, I’ll do it anyway. Besides, I’ve got bloggers-block, can’t ya tell?

The School Meme

How many schools did I go to?

Started at a school in Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands. It was a Convent school, but co-ed. Heck I didn’t even now there were all-girls Convent schools till I came to KL. Then went to SRK Clifford in Kuala Lipis, followed by La Salle Brickfields KL for standard 6 to form 3. Since there was no science stream classes at La Salle B’fields, I left for SM Vivekananda just down the road instead. After SPM, moved on to Methodist College KL – also down the same road – for my A-Levels. Then there were the uni years, but universities are not technically schools, are they?

Was I the studious nerd, or the last minute hero?

Last minute all the way. Friends used to wonder at my lack of stress before exams, but that was just because I never bothered looking at any books unless it was a day or two before the exams. Heck, I remember only studying for the Geography paper during SRP a day before the exam. Really. Amazingly I managed a C3 anyway. Phew!

Was I the class ‘taiko’ or the teacher’s pet?

Class clown and standard punching bag during primary school years.

What was the biggest rule I broke in school?

Talking in class, throwing chalks at other students, flinging a chunk of ice at one student, etc. Why were all these a big deal? Cos I was a school prefect then! Actually, other than that, I rarely broke any rules – well, nothing anyone can prove, anyway..πŸ˜‰

Three subjects I enjoyed.

English – I ruled this subject. I even had a well-known record that stretched from Standard 5 to Form 3 (that’s 5 years in a row) where I scored the highest marks in every English exam paper in my grade level. The record was finally broken in Form 3 when one guy beat my score by 2 marks – I still remember the look of glee on his face when he realised he beat me. I wrested control of the number one status again during the very next exam, but with the long sequence broken, my heart just wasn’t in it anymore.

Maths – Actually I hated this subject. Then I took tuition classes from Mr Raj (see below) and I grew to love it. I probably wouldn’t be doing what I’m doing now if not for this subject.

Chemistry – ..or Kimia in Malay. It wasn’t the subject matter that I liked, though, it was the extremely beautiful teacher who taught the subject. I swear, she looked just like Sofia Jane. I don’t recall ever missing a single class of hers. I don’t recall much of what she taught either, although I might be able to tell you how she looked – gorgeous.

Three teachers that inspired me.

My dad β€” I got 5A’s in my UPSR exams (which back then was a big deal – my school even awarded me 50 bucks, 20 of which I spent the same day) and this was achieved without any tuition. Hell, the first time I took tuition was when I was in Form 3 – and that was only because it was the in-thing to do. But before all that, it was my dad who took charge of my home education especially in primary school, and did a good job too.

Mr Thevandraraj β€” My SPM Maths and Add Maths tuition teacher. Awesome man with some great stories – a former FAM referee, he was the man in black for a friendly match between Malaysia and an Argentina team which included a certain D. A. Maradona. His brilliance though was his ability to break down the complex mathematical problems into small chunks of easy-to-solve questions. My entire approach to logical thinking these days are a direct result of his tuition classes.

Life – the greatest teacher of all. Ok, that was a cop-out, honestly, I can’t quite think of another inspiring teacher… unless you count the Kimia teacher, who certainly inspired me in ways that have nothing to do with academic achievement….

Now I’m supposed to tag some people? Ok, let’s see if this people will take it up:

Suanie: (done)!
Drama Queen! (done)
Eyeris! (done)
Nilesh: (done)
Peter!

That’s it for now. Spread the disease, err, meme.

12 thoughts on “Schools Me2”

  1. “…followed by La Salle Brickfields KL for standard 6 to form 3. Since there was no science stream classes at La Salle B’fields, I left for SM Vivekananda just down the road instead. After SPM, moved on to Methodist College KL…”

    I followed the same path…La Salle Brickfields (std 1 – form 3) > Vivekananda (form 4 – form 5) but finished in Methodist Boys School KL (form 6). I just that it is a tradition…

    SASHI: Dude, what year were you in La Salle/Vive? Cos I know a Bala or two…

  2. Pingback: As Suanie Sees It
  3. Hahaha sorry for that. It’s just that I’m in MCKL now. And I never “knew” anyone from MCKL before this. Wow wow wow. So cool. Hahahaha.

    SASHI: Wow, so you’re the new generation of MCKLians, eh? The ones who don’t have to wear the old brown uniforms (yes, we did, even during A-Levels..)…. Things sure have changed since my time there – there was no monorail, for one thing..

  4. hmm..interesting read..n its interesting to find another MCKLian blogging..do the college students still hv to wear uniforms though?

  5. Yas, you’re an MKLC-ian too?

    No, of course we don’t have to wear uniforms anymore.πŸ˜€

    I love it, it’s fun. Plus, almost all the guys in my class are Liverpool fans! Haha. :p

    If you don’t mind me asking, roughly when was “your time”?

    SASHI: A-Levels class of 1995/96. 10 years ago.

  6. Dude…I was in La Salle from 1980 – 1989 and Vivekananda from 1990 – 1991. You?

    SASHI:
    La Salle: 1989 – 1992
    Vivekananda: 1993 – 1994

    I guess that make you my senior… πŸ˜‰

  7. Hi,
    Please look up the Las alle 76 old Boys.Quite Interesting.
    As for myself,started in 1970,in Standard 1.
    The teachers,for Sains Pertanian was Low ie nickname Froggie!,I believe, passed away.
    Sains was a Mr. Yong,also passed away.There was a few,but truly an interesting era in the 70s.

    Wish ther is a concerted effort by someone to kick start a authentic alumni assosciation aka VIOBA.
    Take care

    SASHI: Hey Raj, thanks for dropping by! Yeah, it would be nice to have a LSOBA, but being from several different schools already, I wouldn’t know to which alumni I’d belong!πŸ˜‰

  8. Pingback: Nilesh Babu

Comments are closed.