The Rin theme for WordPress

As you can see, I’ve changed the template for the blog. My intention was to have a slightly more ‘polished’ feel as compared to my previous template, but with much of the same features.

The Rin theme was one of the winners of Alex King’s WordPress 1.5 Theme competition. It had what I was looking for, which was essentially a simple, uncluttered, minimalist design, with a narrow 2-column design for the index page, and a single wide column for the individual posts. Also, it had a very high versatility factor i.e. there’s a lot of scope for design hacking.

However, upon installing the theme, I discovered that the comment script had some issues with Spam Karma, and anyone trying to comment would have had SK flagging the comment as spam.

The problem, as it turned out, was that the comment script itself was compatible with WordPress 1.2 and not with 1.5. Fortunately, a fix is described at the Broken Kode Discussion Forum.

There were also some minor style issues with IE (as usual), but I think I’ve fixed most of them.

I’d greatly appreciate any feedback regarding the look and feel of this Rin-enabled blog, as well as how the commenting system is working. I’m especially interested in knowing how things look on an 800 x 600 resolution, and on alternative browsers like Opera, Safari or Flock.

Sekian, terima kasih.

3 thoughts on “The Rin theme for WordPress”

  1. Well it works fine with Flock here, which is no surprise since Flock uses the same code as Firefox 1.5. It looks pretty neat in 800×600, no horizontal bars or anything. So far so good. How come you keep changing your theme anyway? It’s like…a few months since your last change too.

Comments are closed.