ZigBee and Wireless Technology

*This is for the people at the recent MV meet-up who were curious as to what my company is involved in. Although my company is involved in this area, technically this post is about the technology and not about our work – which means I’m not TECHNICALLY breaking my own rules about blogging about work.

Choosing wisely for embedded ZigBee apps

The ZigBee low-power, low-cost wireless-networking standard is making it practical to embed wireless communications into everyday appliances. Its proponents say the standard will foster rich new markets for home and building automation, energy conservation and even homeland security.

Note: The article is quite technical, and is not really a introduction to the ZigBee standard. Not recommended reading for non-IT people. If you’re not technically inclined, I suggest you read this instead.

