Memorising Lines for Nobody

During all those years in school, I’ve naturally chanced upon many of Shakespeare‘s works in one form or another. Today, I realise that I’m able to remember only two passages of his most famous works. One is the soliloquy from Hamlet:

“To be or not to be, –that is the question:–
Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer
The slings and arrows of outrageous fortune
Or to take arms against a sea of troubles,
And by opposing end them?”

The other is this:

“But soft! what light through yonder window breaks?
It is the east, and Juliet is the sun!–
Arise, fair sun, and kill the envious moon,
Who is already sick and pale with grief,
That thou her maid art far more fair than she:
Be not her maid, since she is envious;
Her vestal livery is but sick and green,
And none but fools do wear it; cast it off.–
It is my lady; O, it is my love!
O, that she knew she were!–
She speaks, yet she says nothing: what of that?
Her eye discourses, I will answer it.–
I am too bold, ’tis not to me she speaks:
Two of the fairest stars in all the heaven,
Having some business, do entreat her eyes
To twinkle in their spheres till they return.
What if her eyes were there, they in her head?
The brightness of her cheek would shame those stars,
As daylight doth a lamp; her eyes in heaven
Would through the airy region stream so bright
That birds would sing and think it were not night.–
See how she leans her cheek upon her hand!
O that I were a glove upon that hand,
That I might touch that cheek!”

OK, maybe not ALL the lines above, but most of it la…

The sad thing is, I memorised the lines from Romeo and Juliet for a reason. A reason for which I’m still waiting.

Darn. This post is getting me down. Here’s something to lighten things up eh?

Dave Barry:

Pretty soon you, the American voter, will enter the sacred sanctity of the voting booth and cast your ballot for the next U.S. president. Or, not. It’s also possible that your ballot will go back in time and participate in the election of 1848, or wind up in a distant galaxy, helping to elect an alien being with 73 eyeballs (slogan: “A Being of Vision”).

Read the rest: Low-carb leader will get my vote

7 thoughts on “Memorising Lines for Nobody”

  1. Zsarina: Thanks! 🙂

    Norzu: Wow, an A huh? Extremely belated congrats! 😆

    vlad: Hear that sound? That’s Willy Shakespeare turning in his tomb… 😆

    Michael: Been practising on your girlfriend, have ya? 😉

  2. I took Literature for SPM, but had to memorise Julius Caesar. Freinds, Romans, countrymen, lend me your ears
    Although I’d prefer Wordsworth’s Daffodils. That is one poem I will remember, it helped me got an A 🙂

  3. What I remember is from Hamlet. Ophelia’s lines:

    “By gis and by Saint Charity
    Alack and fie! for shame
    Young men will do’t
    If they come to’t
    By cock! They are to blame!”

    😀 Cannot guarantee exact placing or punctuation, and this is straight from memory. But is an amusing reply to men who memorize R&J to get a girl….

  4. Poetry has to be read out loud… and it’s nice when you let it drip out. I remember that scene from R&J. I guess we had the same motivation.

    Which doesn’t say much about us 😉

Comments are closed.