Obama08: Yes We Can


Song & video, featuring a star cast, by Will.i.am of The Black Eyed Peas. Inspired by Barack Obama’s ‘Yes We Can’ speech

I’m not American, and I don’t have any say or vote in how the American presidential elections turn out.

But I cannot help but admire the way the electoral processes are being held there (although I can’t say the same about the campaign strategies of some of the candidates).

I admire the openness, the transparency. I admire the efforts put in not just by party members, but by ordinary American people who are beginning to realise how important their vote – their voice -can be in the elections. Especially after the debacles of the last 2 elections.

Contrast this to that of our own. I ask sometimes how the government can expect us to be “involved” and “patriotic” in the electoral process when for most of our lives we are told to leave the politics to the politicians?

How can people be blamed for their political apathy when, for most of their lives, they’ve been conditioned to be apathetic?

And when people finally wake up to their responsibility in the nation’s political system, how can they be blamed for venting their frustrations in previously unheard of ways when normal avenues of making their voices heard are blocked?

But enough of that. This post isn’t about our elections. It’s about the US elections. Specifically, one presidential candidate.

Barack Obama.

I haven’t actually been following the campaigns closely, but I was watching TV some days back, and switched to CNN, just at the time when Obama was about to arrive on stage in South Carolina following his thumping victory in the Democratic primary there.

I watched his speech. And I couldn’t help but be inspired. Inspired to be the change we want to effect.

And I’m not even American.

“I’m asking you to believe. Not just in my ability to bring about real change in Washington… I’m asking you to believe in yours.” – from BarackObama.com

Unlike his rival, he is not saying he’s THE person to solve America’s woes. He’s saying he’s the man to bring Americans together to solve them.

His campaign is inclusive. He’s the people’s man. And I hope he gets the Democratic nomination, and goes on to win the Presidential race.

He won’t be my President. But he can still be an inspiration.

If you’re American, I hope you vote for Barack Obama. The world needs someone to look up to now.

Related Youtube links:

One thought on “Obama08: Yes We Can”

Comments are closed.